SW HCE AIR 120914 34

Steven Wilson posts video footage from AIR Studios recording sessions!

Here we are folks, the moment we’ve been waiting for! Steven Wilson has just posted to his YouTube channel video footage from the recording sessions for his forthcoming album! The footage was filmed by Lasse Hoile at AIR Studios, where last month Steven and the band recorded the eagerly awaited follow up to the critically acclaimed ‘The Raven That Refused To Sing (and other stories)’.

The video also for the first time gives us a glimpse of what the album sounds like – Steven describes the album as a culmination of his entire musical repertoire. Let us know what you think in the comments below!


New Steven Wilson classic album remixes – Tears For Fears and Jethro Tull

Steven Wilson has definitely been keeping busy! He’s just announced two more classic album remixes, both due for release in November.

Following the announcement of the next Yes (official) and XTC remixed reissues, 2 more of my classic album remixes have been confirmed for release in November (a pretty expensive time if you like all these albums!)

My remix of Tears for Fears’ iconic 80’s album “Songs From the Big Chair” is included on a 30th anniversary reissue, to be released by Universal Music Group on 4th November.

Songs from the Big Chair was one of the biggest albums of the 80’s, and particularly successful in the USA where it reached number one in the Billboard chart on its way to selling several million copies. It features two US number one singles, Shout and Everybody Wants to Rule the World, as well as 2 more hit singles Head Over Heels and Mother’s Talk.

It’s a brilliant record by a truly innovative 80’s band – both accessible and ambitious. The reissue will be available in several different formats including a stand-alone Blu-Ray and a comprehensive 6 disc deluxe edition with live tracks, singles, B-sides, TV/radio appearances, remixes, videos, and the original mix.

There will also be a vinyl edition of my new stereo mix. The new stereo and 5.1 mixes were overseen and approved by Roland Orzabal (and are included as flat transfers with no mastering). More details and track listing are available on SuperDeluxeEdition: http://www.superdeluxeedition.com/news/tears-for-fears-massive-songs-from-the-big-chair-box-set-coming/


Released on 24th November is a deluxe 2CD/2DVD edition of the 1974 Jethro Tull album “War Child”. Originally planned as a large scale film and album project, Tull recorded over 20 songs for the project as well as several orchestral pieces intended for the film soundtrack. Eventually the film project was shelved and the resulting album featured a relatively modest 10 tracks.

But now “War Child – The 40th Anniversary Theatre Edition” brings together all of the music recorded during the period. A total of 25 tracks have been remixed into stereo and 5.1 surround sound, including 4 of the orchestral pieces. The original 1974 mix is represented by a flat transfer of the album, 6 further orchestral tracks, and a quadrophonic mix of the album.

Full track listing and pre-order info at Burning Shed: https://www.burningshed.com/store/jethrotull/

Layout 1



Colin Edwin joins avant metal band Obake

Porcupine Tree’s Colin Edwin has teamed up with his Metallic Taste of Blood colleagues Eraldo Bernocchi and Balazs Pandi with Italian vocalist Lorenzo Esposito Fornasari in the avant metal band Obake. The band are releasing their second studio album ‘Mutations‘, out in October on Rare Noise Records. Colin contributed bass to the majority of the tracks on the album, making a lot of use of his down tuned Spector Euro 435LX, aided and abetted by various EBS distortion FX.

Colin will be touring with Obake in December, the dates and ticket links for which you can find here. You can listen to a stream of ‘M’ taken from Obake’s ‘Mutations’ below.


StarsDie.com Featured Artist – Rian Adkinson

The StarsDie.com Featured Artist returns yet again! This is the feature where we, the StarsDie.com editorial team, inform you of new up and coming artists that would appeal to fans of Porcupine Tree, Steven Wilson and progressive music in general – i.e. you! You can read the previous StarsDie.com featured artist articles here.


Rian Adkinson is a singer/songwriter from Atlanta, Georgia and he describes his music as a cross between Coldplay, Steven Wilson, Neil Finn and Radiohead. He recently released his debut album, titled ‘Villain’. The album contains his previously released singles ‘Angel In The Watermark’ and ‘I’ll Be The Lightning’ plus six brand new songs.

“This album is the sonic representation of me, my faults, my fears, the darkness, the light. These songs are not just songs, they represent two years of my life. It’s honest, its real, it’s Villain” – Rian Adkinson

Adkinson released ‘Villain’ for streaming only through his website on 22nd September. You can listen to the entire album via SoundCloud below.

SW HCE AIR 100914 19

Here are some more photos of Steven Wilson recording his new album!

Steven Wilson has been incredibly busy this past week recording his new solo album at AIR Studios in London. The new album is the follow up to 2013′s critically acclaimed ‘The Raven that Refused To Sing (and other stories)‘, and is scheduled for release in early 2015. Yesterday Steven posted some more photos (taken by Lasse Hoile) from the sessions to his Facebook page, which you can see below.

You can clearly see several GoPro cameras and tripods in the photos, which confirms that behind the scenes video footage from the sessions will be released at some stage. Stay tuned!

Go to Top